Review: The Limners: America’s Earliest Portrait Painters

51Iu4LIQH1L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

During the month of May I was having a hard time reading.  By the end of the month I hadn’t read a single book and was in danger of not meeting my objective of one book per month.  We went with my niece and her boyfriend to Seattle, where I snuck into the local library and found a small, interesting, little book to read quickly to meet my requirements.

I had no idea what I was getting into when I choose this book.  It’s a look at art in America as we began to build cities and grow as a nation.  Most people back then were illiterate, so sign makers had to make beautiful signs that showed what kind of business was inside.  Those same artists would also be used by the wealthy to do portraits of them and their family.  Often these portraits would display the profession of the person depicted.  But the artists back then did not aim for life like images.  Often their depictions came out disproportionate and lifeless.  It’s an interesting phase in our artistic history.  And if you’re into art it’s well worth your time to look into this era and how it has effected us today.

This book gave a nice overview of the topic and was fascinating to read.  Overall I give it 2 stars.

Next Up: The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling

One thought on “Review: The Limners: America’s Earliest Portrait Painters

  1. Pingback: Review: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them | This Sporadic Life

Leave a Reply

