Passion Week Devotional: Minor Characters

Photo by Hugo Fergusson on Unsplash

Every Easter season our churches do a special Easter Service. Many do a Good Friday Service too. And the message on those days is always the same. It’s about Jesus, His last days on Earth, and His resurrection. We talk about this story frequently, but even so, there are many characters we talk very little about, if at all. This year, I wanted to challenge myself by studying these minor characters and seeing what I can learn from them. Why would I do this? Because even the most insignificant characters in Scripture have something to teach us about God.

Over the next eight days, I want to take you on the same journey I just went on. I want to show you what we can learn from an unassuming donkey owner, temple money changers, and a dreamer. I want you to see, as I have, what we can learn from a boy, a priest, and an overlooked woman. The depths of God’s Words are too deep for our feeble minds to fathom, and there is much for us to glean from studying these short and sometimes difficult accounts.

For those of you who read the Advent Devotional Series on Messianic Prophecies my wife and I did in December to help prepare our hearts for Christmas, this series will have a similar structure and aim. In that series the goal was to inspire our hearts by growing in the knowledge of Scripture, seeing how that knowledge leads to practical, everyday, real-life change, putting it into practice to bring glory to God, and seeing how all of that leads us back to growing in knowledge. These series are designed around the truths written in Colossians 1:9-10, knowing that our deep and abiding meditation on God’s truth brings about remarkable change.

I hope you’ll be challenged this week and your heart will be excited to enter into the Easter Celebrations during this lengthy Covid season. It is my earnest prayer that these devotionals would grow you deeper in your walk with God and change the way you live.

Bookmark this post for ease, and each day I’ll link the next post here:

Day 1: The Colt Owner
Day 2: The Concubine
Day 3: The Money Changer
Day 4: The Dreamer
Day 5: The Boy
Day 6: The Pharisee
Day 7: The Overlooked Woman
Day 8: The Emmaus Duo

Let’s get our hearts right before God as the biggest and most important holiday for all of us Christians approaches this coming week.